Club Ball 2016

On Saturday 8 October the Club held its Annual Joondalup Brothers Ball and Awards Night. It was a brilliant night with over 150 members and guests coming together to celebrate a wonderful 2016 season. The night was coordinated by the wonderful Brett and Donna Allen from Perth Staff Parties who put on another fantastic show. We also had a large group of hard working volunteers who ensured the night was a huge success. The evening started as guests arrived in style on the red carpet and were greeted with a glass of sparkling and posed for some professional photos. Guests were treated to an amazing night of food, entertainment and of course a few drinks.

The night started with the MC – Rob “Fat Boy”Chappell, (Senior President) who welcomed our guests to kick off proceedings. This was followed by our Golden Oldies, 4th and 3rd Grade seasons awards. After a short break to recharge the glasses, the crowd was then wowed by the live stage performance which featured a few favourite songs from the 80’s and 90’s. Performers sung and danced around the stage in incredible costumes and this was well received by the cheering crowd.

With act one done and glasses recharged again, it was time to present the awards for the Colts and Reserve Grade teams. It was great to welcome one of the Club’s sponsors, Eagle Falls Spur Steak and Grill to the stage to present the awards. While onstage, it was announced that Spur would be increasing their sponsorship with the Club to include the entire junior section. This was a highlight of the night for all in attendance and a huge thank you for their continued support of our club.

It was again time to welcome our performers back to the stage as they turned up the tempo and put on their finale, and what a finale it was. The audience was moving and grooving along to some wonderful tunes and incredible dancing. It was then time to move into the final round of awards for the evening as we welcomed our Premier Grade sponsor Garth Davis from Property Powerhouse to the stage to present the awards. This concluded the team honours and two life members, John Hillen and Kevin Russell were called on to the stage to present the Club’s most prestigious awards.

Congratulations to Jim Phillips on receiving the Club’s highest honour, The Patrons Cup. Congratulations also goes to Matt de Beer on winning the Senior Clubman of the year. Congratulations to all of our Senior Awards Recipients. It was a great opportunity to congratulate players on a fantastic season and make special mention to those the Club felt deserved extra recognition. Award winners can be seen below. The night continued with plenty of drinks, dancing, and even a spot of karaoke from a few of the players. The evening was a fantastic way to close out the 2016 rugby season and was enjoyed by all. Thank you to everyone who attended and contributed to such a wonderful evening.

Whole of Club Awards
Patrons Cup – Jim Phillips

Senior Division Awards
Clubman of year – Matt de Beer
Rookie of year – JP Mostert

Premier Grade Awards

Best forward – Laione Mulikihaamea
Best back – Johann Louw
Players’ player – Laione Mulikihaamea

Reserve Grade Awards
Best forward – Max Fryer
Best back – Koel Malloch
Players’ player – Koel Malloch

Colts Awards
Best forward – Isaac Cavu
Best back – Jean Willis Brits
Players’ player – Josh Wells

Third Grade Awards
Best forward – Chris Broughton
Best back – Shaquille Greenland Peni
Players player – Darren O’Flaherty

Fourth Grade Awards
Best forward – Trevor Acton
Best back – Joseph Anderson
Players’ player – Chad Capelli

Golden Oldies Awards
Best forward – Richard Brown
Best back – Chad Capelli
Players’ player – Guy Noakes

contact us

open to everyone at any level

Joondalup Brothers | Website by TSM Web Designs